So About Those Plans… (3 hrs)

12 August 2017 – 3 hrs

Today was a much better day for riveting.  I clamped the VS rear spar to the table and got through the remaining rivets at a pretty good rate.  I guess it’s kind of like riding a bike.  I was VERY pleased with how the shop heads were formed as well, although I wasn’t thrilled with the marking on the front of the spar from the flush set.  But you can’t win ’em all, right?

One thing I figured out was that if I set a rag (it was wrapped around the squeezer yoke, which is why it looks so dirty :-p ) on the lower flanges, I can rest the bucking bar on it giving me a perpendicular set with almost no effort.

By the way, the tungsten bucking bar, with the small size that can fit almost anywhere and good weight is definitely worth the investment.  I was skeptical at first, but I’m a believer now!  I also finished riveting the VS front spar (seen in the pic below).  With those done, I started to cleco the VS skin on.

IMG_2687

Notice anything?  Yeah, those skins aren’t dimpled yet…  Since I was skipping around dealing with the primer delay and trying to find something “interesting” for my buddy to help with, I totally skipped dimpling the skins.  Soooo, I had to laugh.  Then I called it a day and let myself be dragged around an outlet mall.

And one extra thing I learned.  When attaching the VS skin, it helps to have a couple microfiber cloths to pad between the front ribs and the small diameter of the skin near the front fold.  That way you avoid having the ribs scratch primer off of the skins.  I’m going to borrow a phrase I see all the time on VAF (www.vansairforce.com).  “Ask me how I know…”

Leave a Reply

